JSU Assists Young People in Developing Apps

Jackson State University staff and volunteers joined TECH JXN and #YesWeCode Hackathon on Tuesday, June 30, in the downtown Jackson Convention Center for an innovation summit to help young people create apps to tackle social and civic issues.

Florida attendees, who traveled to the conference via Estella’s Brilliant Bus, joined young participants from Jackson Public Schools. The customized bus mobile learning center is the brainchild of 79-year-old Estella Pyfrom of Belle Grade, Fla. Recognized as a CNN Hero, Pyfrom, a daughter of migrant farm workers, recounted growing up in an impoverished community with a lot of unskilled labor in southern Florida. She said she developed the idea to bring computers and technology to underserved areas.

Below are those who won during the competition. Mayor Yarber will recognize the JPS students that participated and won the Hackathon.

Grand Prize
Application: “Global Emergency Community Contact (GECC),” a crowd sourcing app to report infrastructure or emergency issues to government officials, including law enforcement, fire department, public works, etc.

Team members: Devon McNeil (Provine High School), Ariel Dille (Provine High School), Rachael Griffin (Bailey APAC), Zadarius Macklin (Provine High School) and Elexis Daniels (Terry High School).
GECC Team Chaperone was Sadie Harris, Provine High teacher.
The winning team received new Samsung Galaxy Tablet 4s and six months of mentorship from Matt Kurt, Chief Technology Officer, of the New Orleans-based e-commerce company, Turbo Squid.

Runners Up
First Runner-Up: “E-Lert”
Team members: Joel May (Murrah High School), Dejoure Mister (Wingfield High School), Joseph White (Clinton Jr. High School), Jordan Taylor (Callaway High School) and Dante Moore (Callaway High School). E-Lert Team Chaperone was Martina Henderson, a JSU student.

Second Runner-Up: “Catfish Catch”
Team members: Hugh Smith (Clinton Christian Academy), LaToria Hicks (Olde Town Middle School), Brianna Colton (Sumner Hill), Peighton Powe (Lovett Elementary School) and Jeremy Grant (Cordoza Middle School). Catfish Catch Team Chaperone was Alis DeJohn, recent USM graduate and (MS)CEI Intern.

The 4th Jackson team won overall in Jackson, but did not make it to the final round in New Orleans. The Real “U” team members are: Miguel Harrison (Lakeview Middle School), Raquel Griffin (Bailey APAC), Tiara Mister (Wingfield High School), Elexis Peyton (Provine High School), Tamia Singleton (Murrah High School), and Mimi Bishop (Madison Central High School). The Real “U” Chaperone was Bryan Eason youth leader with the the CDF Southern Regional Office.

About Jackson State University, Center for University-Based Development (932 Articles)
We blog about things that are absolutely, positively West Jackson (Mississippi).

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: