Free Tax Services at JSU

The Volunteer Income Tax Assistance (VITA) program offers free tax help to people who generally make $54,000 or less, persons with disabilities and limited English speaking taxpayers who need assistance in preparing their own tax returns. IRS-certified volunteers provide free basic income tax return preparation with electronic filing to qualified individuals.

The Department of Accounting in the College of Business at Jackson State University is a hosting site for the VITA services. They are located in the College of Business building in suites 201 and 210.
Please see a list of times and dates they are available.

Spring 2017 OPERATION DAYS AND HOURS
Mon. Feb 6 4:30pm – 7:00pm
Tues. Feb 7 4:30pm – 7:00pm
Mon. Feb 13 4:30pm – 7:00pm
Tues. Feb 14 4:30pm – 7:00pm
Sat. Feb 18 10:00am – 1:00pm
Mon. Feb 20 4:30pm – 7:00pm
Tues. Feb 21 4:30pm – 7:00pm
Sat. Feb 25 10:00am – 1:00pm
Mon. Feb 27 4:30pm – 7:00pm
Tues. Feb 28 4:30pm – 7:00pm
Sat. Mar. 4 10:00am – 1:00pm
Mon. Mar 6 4:30pm – 7:00pm
Tues. Mar 7 4:30pm – 7:00pm

For more information please contact Donald McWilliams, Site Coordinator, at 601-979-2699 or by email at donald.mcwilliams@jsums.edu,

This is a walk-in site and clients should have the following documents:
 Social security cards for taxpayer, spouse & dependents
(copies acceptable)
 Photo identification (taxpayer and spouse)
 All income documents (W-2’s, 1099’s, etc..)
 Form 1095-A, if purchase health insurance on marketplace
exchange

Advertisements
About Jackson State University, Center for University-Based Development (667 Articles)
We blog about things that are absolutely, positively West Jackson (Mississippi).

1 Comment on Free Tax Services at JSU

  1. Fantastic! This is great! I hope the word gets out and people take advantage of this free service to the public! Kudos to the volunteers too!

    Thanks Heather!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: